Google and LG Watch Sport & Style to launch in the UAE soon, becomes the first Android Wear 2.0 smartwatches

By Team Feedbaac

The wait is finally over as Google has officially announced its latest Android Wear 2.0 OS with the new LG Watch Sport and LG Watch Style smartwatches. The new software update and the new smartwatches come with a series of new features such as Google Assistant integration and NFC for Android Pay.

The new smartwatches LG Watch Sport and the Watch Style differ in capability, cost, and the type of crowd its meant for. The LG Watch Sport features a 1.38-inch P-OLED display with Gorilla Glass 3 protection. The main body of the Watch Sport is made of 316L stainless steel and the straps are made of thermoplastic polyurethane.

Powering the LG Watch Sport is the 1.1GHz Snapdragon Wear 2100 processor with 768MB RAM and 4GB internal storage. The device is backed up with a 430 mAh battery with wireless charging support. The watch also supports connectivity options such as WiFi, Bluetooth, GPS, NFC, and LTE. The LG Watch Sport is certified with IP68 based protection. The device appears to also have three buttons on the right side, and the middle button is a rotatory crown.

The smaller LG Watch Style holds a 1.2-inch P-OLED circular display, also with Gorilla Glass 3 protection. The straps used for this model is made of “Italian Genuine” leather. However, the LG Watch Style supports WiFi and Bluetooth connections. The watch happens to only have one button on the right. The LG Watch Style is only certified with IP67 rated protection. The battery included has a capacity of 240mAh. The watch is also powered by the 1.1GHz Snapdragon Wear 2100 processor, but with a lower 512MB RAM and 4GB storage.

The new Google/LG Watch Sport and Style will be priced at $349 (AED 1281) and $249 (AED 914), respectively. The LG Watch Sport will come in Titanium and Dark Blue colors, and the LG Watch Style in Silver, Titanium, and Rose Gold colors. The new LG Watch Sport and LG Watch Style are expected to launch in Canada, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, Taiwan, U.K, and UAE in the coming weeks.